Nigeria (Covenant University) “We are here to help you Improve on your Processes” – NUC Accreditation Team Leader

A team of accreditors from the National Universities Commission (NUC) on an accreditation visit to the Departments of Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, Chemical Engineering, and Management Information Systems of Covenant University have indicated their resolve to work with the Management of the University to reposition the programmes for greater impact.

Speaking on behalf of the teams on the ground, the team leader on an accreditation visit to Mechanical Engineering, Professor Ahmed Tijani Abdullahi, said their coming will also afford them the privilege of seeing what is in place in these departments and helping them improve their processes.

Professor Abdullahi said the visit was not about criticising the operational framework of the departments in focus but adding value to their existing structures, thereby moving the programmes to a higher level of acceptability for national development.

He advised Covenant’s management and the department’s leadership to accept every advice and recommendation from the exercises, as they will be helpful in advancing academic processes at the university.

In his remarks, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Abiodun H. Adebayo, appreciated all the accreditation teams present for undertaking this national exercise in the University’s pursuit of raising new generation leaders across all fields of human endeavour.

Professor Adebayo said there was no perfect system anywhere in the world, but there was a need to continually strive towards improving the operational scope and content of any engagement, and as a result, Covenant was open to constructive criticism that was designed to help her deliver on her mandate.

The tripartite panels from the NUC were received by the Acting Registrar, Mrs. Regina Tobi-David; Director, Financial Services Pastor Olugbenga Kiki; Dean, College of Engineering, Professor David Olukanni; Dean, College of Science and Technology, Professor Timothy Anake; Director, Centre for Learning Resources, Dr. Mercy Iroaganachi; and Director, Academic Planning Unit, Professor Philip Aizebokhai.

Professors from Mechanical Engineering (Professor Joshua Okeniyi), Petroleum Engineering (Professor Priye Orodu), Chemical Engineering (Professor Vincent Efeobokhan), and Computer and Information Science (Professor Olufunke Oladipupo) were also present.