Denmark (Aalborg University) Aau talent receives denmark’s oldest engineering award

AAU researcher Pooya Davari has just received the Equinor Prize, which is Denmark’s oldest engineering prize. He receives the award for his innovative work with power electronics, which is a key technology on the road to the green transition.


Associate Professor Pooya Davari from AAU Energi received Denmark’s oldest engineering prize, the Equinor Prize, on Friday 25 March 2022. He receives the award for his work in ensuring greater electromagnetic compatibility and reliability in the electronics that control the electrical energy in, for example, wind turbines, solar cells, batteries and electric cars. A work that contributes to the electrification of society and to the green transition.

In the selection, the prize committee says, among other things:

– Pooya is a young researcher who, while contributing to the basic understanding of important technical phenomena, is also able to pursue the application perspective in his research.

Through his research, Pooya Davari has collaborated with more than 10 Danish companies. The goal has been to improve companies’ products and to help them on their way to meeting future standards for electrical appliances. It is crucial for both the competitiveness of companies and for the green transition.

Associate Professor Pooya Davari received his PhD degree at the Queensland University of Technology in 2013 and in 2014 he joined AAU Energy at Aalborg University. It is a great recognition to receive an award like this.

– It is a great honour for me to be a part of the story for this traditional award. It means a lot to me that my research over the last eight years in Denmark is recognized in that way, so many thanks to the committee for selecting me. I look forward to continuing my research over the next many years and contributing to Denmark’s development in power electronics, says Pooya Davari.

The Equinor Prize is DKK 100,000, and the award ceremony took place at Brede Spisehus in Copenhagen, where a large part of the previous prize recipients, the prize committee, the foundation’s board and representatives from Kalundborg Refinery showed up to celebrate this year’s winner of the prize.